Week 4 | Exchange student diaries

Week 4 of my exchange has been hectic and amazing. I did some pretty insane things that I still can’t believe – i.e. waking up at 4am to catch a bus to London and meeting another blogger!

I’m going to keep this week’s post brief and to the point.

Some highlights:

  • Going to London! My roommate, Kokoro, and I had been planning a trip down to London ‘behind the scenes’ for the past week or so; this weekend, our planning finally paid off and we were off on a bus halfway across the UK to the city we’d always dreamed of seeing! We met some amazing people along the way and saw some amazing sights – including the changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace, going up the London Eye, Oxford Circus and the Natural History Museum. I had an amazing time exploring and traveling, but not everything went 100% smoothly – there were a few bumps along the road and scary/unpleasant incidents that happened. London is also way more massive than I expected and  I plan to do a more detailed post about my trip to London, so stay tuned!
  • Meeting Chynna – One amazing thing about currently living in the UK is that it puts me in much closer proximity with many more bloggers, compared to in Australia. The blogging community is much smaller in Australia, and I find actually, that most of my interaction has been with UK based bloggers! While I was in London, I was lucky enough to be able to meet the lovely Chynna from The Invisible Child. Chynna writes a blog about food, travel and lifestyle (like myself!); we’d been interacting quite a bit through Twitter and each others blogs so when I said I’d be in London for the weekend, we tried to organise some way to meet up. I remember stumbling around absent-mindedly after a morning of stuffing myself full with lobster and seeing Buckingham Palace and waiting around Green Park trying to locate Chynna, and when we finally met it felt completely insane and unreal. Chynna, being a local Londoner, was kind enough to accompany and bring us to different tourist spots around London and we ended up spending the entire day together and ending with some really good Chinese food!
  • Self-defence – Vivian and I have been continuing attending the women’s self-defence classes run by our Student’s Union. This week we’ve been learning about blocking techniques and how to evade attacks and pushes. I’m loving the course so far and can’t wait to continue learning more!
  • Brunch – Finally went to check out a local gem in Sheffield that I’d heard quite a bit about on social media – Steamyard, located on Division Street! Steamyard is a hip cafe that serves bagels, sandwiches and cakes and is renowned for its coffee. I was a bit surprised at how small and dainty the sandwiches and cakes looked when we ordered them, but we were left surprisingly full! I think Steamyard is definitely worth checking out for anyone that is in Sheffield, because the food is great and the place is very well known and certainly has a lot of hype and buzz around it!

 

Top left: Chynna, Mina, Kokoro and I!
Bottom left: View from the London Eye
Right: The gates of Buckingham Palace

 

Steamyard, Division St, Sheffield
Leave a Reply

